artroom as part of open studio 2014

click picture to enlarge



artroom as part of the Open Studio 2014Photo Philip Stanley Dickson, psd photography

Charlie & Pauline’s
OPEN STUDIO

Allanbank Mill Steading
Allanton, Duns
Berwickshire TD11 3JX
SCOTLAND

T: 01890 818073
E: pb@paulineburbidge-quilts.com
W: allanbankmillsteading.co.uk

We are situated eight miles inland from the A1 and Berwick-upon-Tweed. Rail links are good, or by road we are 1 hour south of Edinburgh or 1½ hours north of Newcastle.

OPEN STUDIO Parking: Follow signs to nearby field.

Restaurant & Rooms, a short walk around the corner – we recommend the Allanton Inn – 01890 818260 – www.allantoninn.co.uk

Open Studio www.allanbankmillsteading.co.uk

Every year you can get a chance to see our artwork displayed in the environment in which we have created it – at Allanbank Mill Steading, our home and studios, here in The Scottish Borders.

The next OPEN STUDIO exhibition at Allanbank Mill Steading, will be from Friday 5th - Monday 8th of August 2022.

BOOKING IS ESSENTIAL and will open on 1st June.

Please pre-book with Eventbrite here – https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/pauline-and-charlies-open-studio-tickets-325658061027

This is the time to see my Textile work – my chance to put works out on display.

Sculptural objects, drawings and ‘Growing Sculpture’ can be seen, made by my husband, Charlie Poulsen (www.charlespoulsenartwork.co.uk). 

Pauline Burbidge & Charlie Poulsen .

Before the four day event, we prepare – cleaning – clearing – painting – refurbishing – gardening – hanging and installing the artwork throughout the whole Steading, inside and out, turning it into an exciting exhibiting arena (please scroll through the photos below).

We open from 5th August to 8th August 2022.

Our opening times are 11am - 6pm on all 4 days.

We would like to invite you to join us!
Please pre-book, thank you.

 

Click the link below to view a short film about our OPEN STUDIO.
‘A Way of Working’ by David Martin

 

Recent Open Studio guest artists:-

2021 Ilona Rijkeboer - drawing and installation www.ilonarijkeboer.com Erica Just - watercolours. www.ericajustartists.bigcartel.com
The quartet of poets: Marina Dora Martino, Helena Fornells, Claire Miranda Roberts & Tara Fietz. 

2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19

2019 David Martin – Animator/Filmmaker – www.davidmartinmedia.com

2018 Dorothy Caldwell – Textile Artist – www.dorothycaldwell.com

2017 Colin Rose – Sculpture and Drawing – www.colinrose.co.uk

2016 Graham Murrell – photography – www.grahammurrell.com

2015 Lizzie Farey – willow work – www.lizziefarey.co.uk

2014 Halima Cassell – Ceramics – www.halimacassell.co.uk

2013 Olivia Lomenech Gill – Fine Artist/Illustrator – www.oliviagill.com

2012 Nigel Ross – Sculpture – www.nigelross-sculpture.com

2011 Jacquie Milham – Architecture – www.architectonicdesign.co.uk

2010 Anna S. King – Textile Construction – www.craftscotland.org

2009 Paul Kenny – Photography – www.paul-kenny.co.uk

2008 Thomas Hawson – Wood – www.thomashawson.com

2007 Vanessa Cutler – Glass – www.vanessacutler.co.uk

2006 Halima Cassell – Ceramics – www.halimacassell.co.uk

  • Ilona and Charlie – OPEN STUDIO, 2021.Photo: Phil Dickson, psd photography
  • Viewing Pauline’s Quilt – OPEN STUDIO, 2021.Photo: Phil Dickson, psd photography
  • Garden visitors – OPEN STUDIO, 2021.Photo: Phil Dickson, psd photography
  • Viewing the poetry – OPEN STUDIO, 2021.Photo: Phil Dickson, psd photography
  • artroom, 2018 – textiles, Dorothy Caldwell; drawings, Charlie Poulsen.Photo: Pauline Burbidge
  • View from the artroom window, 2018Photo: Pauline Burbidge
  • Granary, 2018 with Pauline’s workPhoto: Pauline Burbidge
  • Detail of Charlie’s ‘waxwork’ pieces, 2018Photo: Pauline Burbidge
  • OPEN STUDIO 2017, sculpture by Colin RosePhoto: Pauline Burbidge
  • OPEN STUDIO 2017, sculpture by Colin RoseTextiles & Photo: Pauline Burbidge
  • The Byre Studio at OPEN STUDIO 2017, drawing by Charlie PoulsenPhoto: Pauline Burbidge
  • OPEN STUDIO 2017, sculpture by Charlie PoulsenPhoto: Pauline Burbidge
  • Garden at the Open Studio, 2016Photo: Jason Patient
  • ‘The Lunch Box’ detail at Open Studio, 2016Designed by Jacquie Milham. Photo: Jason Patient
  • Inside the ‘The Lunch Box’ Open Studio, 2016Designed by Jacquie Milham. Photo Graham Murrell
  • The Terrace and ‘The Lunch Box’ detail at Open Studio, 2016Photo Jason Patient
  • The Garden at the Open Studio, 2016Photo Graham Murrell
  • Studio B at Open Studio, 2016Photo Jason Patient
  • Top Yard at the Open Studio, 2016Photo Graham Murrell
  • Charlies ‘Concrete Column’ at Open Studio, 2016Photo Jason Patient
  • Pauline's studio at 2014 Open StudioPhoto Philip Stanley Dickson, psd photography
  • Artroom window with ceramics & bronze by Halima Cassell, 2014Photo Philip Stanley Dickson, psd photography
  • Open Cartel with Charlie's sculpture 2014Photo Philip Stanley Dickson, psd photography
  • Nest by Lizzie Farey, guest artist for 2015Photo Shannon Tofts
  • Kitchen at Allanbank2009
    Photo by Douglas Gibb
  • Byre Studio, Allanbank2006
    Ceramics by Halima Cassell, Drawings by Charles Poulsen, Photo by Luke Watson
  • Front Yard at Allanbank2010
    Photo by Brendan Kenny
  • Byre Studio2010
    Drawings by Charles Poulsen and constructed textile forms by Anna King. Photo by Brendan Kenny.
  • Textiles by Pauline Burbidge2010
    'Windows on Puglia', in progress 2011, photo: Brendan Kenny.
  • Granary, Allanbank2010
    'Quiltline' collection and quilting frame. Photo by Brendan Kenny.
  • 'Quiltline' Collection2008
    Photo by Luke Watson.
  • Garden, Allanbank, 2011Growing Sculpture by Charles Poulsen, Photo by Brendan Kenny
  • Sculpture by Charles Poulsen, 'Pod 3', cast lead and yew. 78"x36"x12".2012 OPEN STUDIO. www.charlespoulsen-sculpture.com
  • 'The Refuge Box' by Olivia Lomenech Gill. Guest Artist for 2013 Open Studio.www.oliviagill.com
  • 'Lindisfarne Revisited', detail by Pauline Burbidge.www.twistedthread.com – 2012, Photo by Luke Watson
  • Come and see my HQ18 Quilting Machine.At the OPEN STUDIO exhibition.
  • Open Studio, Allanbank Mill Steading, 2015Photo by Jason Patient
  • Open Studio, Allanbank Mill Steading, 2015Photo by Phil Dickson, PSD Photography
  • 'The Lunchbox' in progress at open Studio, 2015Photo by Jason Patient
  • The greenhouse at Open Studio, 2015Photo by Jason Patient

Think of visiting our neighbours too!

Gill Walton’s Open Studio, https://www.gillwalton.co.uk/section866343.html

Situated a few hundred yards along the road, and open for the same period as us.
Please pre-book at gillwaltonart@gmail.com